Trade Agreements

Ethiopia has made a number of preferential trade agreements with many countries. Under the various Generalized System of Preference (GSP) schemes, Ethiopia is one of the beneficiaries of preferential trade access for a wide spectrum of commodities from a number of developed countries, including, among others, Australia, Canada, the European Union (EU), Japan, Norway, and the United States of America (USA). The two most important duty free market access opportunities that Ethiopia currently enjoys are the EBA and AGOA schemes. Except Kenya, which is not categorized as a least developed economy, all other neighboring countries in East Africa are beneficiaries of the EBA, and many other GSP schemes.

Ethiopia has concluded bilateral investment and double taxation avoidance treaties with the following countries:

30 Bilateral Investment Treaties (BITs) from 1994 to 2009

Algeria            Austria              Belgium and Luxemburg        China               Denmark

Djibouti           Egypt              Equatorial Guinea       Finland            France             Germany

India                Iran                  Israel               Italy                 Kuwait                        Libya  

Malaysia          Netherlands     Russia              South Africa               Spain               Sudan

Sweden           Switzerland                 Tunisia             Turkey             United Kingdom         USA


12 Double Taxation Avoidance Treaties (DTTs) from 1996-2008

Algeria            Czech Republic           France             Israel               Italy                 Kuwait           

Romania          Russia              South African             Tunisia             Turkey             Yemen


Data Source: Ethiopian Investment Guide 2014